Four New Additions 2004-01-07 7:14 a.m.

Mood - + + Music -



So yes, underneath my very nose, Rei (my white rat with the light brown head) gave birth to 4 ugly but cute, small babies. :D I had heard squeaking most of the afternoon yesterday, but I thought they were playing as they often do. One of these times I noticed that Kaworu and Himeko were snuggled up to each other, so no playing was to be done. I went over and examined Rei, thinking she might be in labor. Well, she sure showed me! She had already had 4 of them before I got to her.

I'm really happy about this. I'm glad she had babies and that I could see them, before Lindsay got to them. However, Lindsay will NEVER touch these, not after her last stunt. I'm also glad that they are not a huge litter, because the fewer there are in a litter, the less stress on the mother. Rei is also not very angsty and mean like most mothers are. I half expected her to bite me or rip me a new one when I put my hand in there to see how many she had; but this wasn't the case, she's very friendly. She just gets very excited when you take the cage lid off.

However, since she -had- given birth, we had to get the other two away from her. I was unprepared for the occassion. I expected Rei might be pregnant, but she never really got too big (I see now that it's because she didn't have much to be pregnant with). So I had no where to put them. Bev opted to put them in the cage with her mouse. I was hoping not too much would happen...but Kaworu/Kaoru (Whatever you wanna call him, he's named after the guy in Eva) killed Hotohori (the mouse). Not only that, he tried to eat him, starting head first. I couldn't deal with it. I heard hotohori squeal and went over there and it was too late. I was sick at my stomach for a good 3-4 hours. I was really disgusted with Kaworu too...because his doing that was vicious and cruel, something I've not experienced with my other pets, such as Tragic. Now, Tragic won't even beat up the mean bully of a cat that IS Lexus. The only time he even attempted that was a year or so back when an orange cat came to our house and he got really pissed off and attempted to fight it. But other than that, he's a lover not a fighter. I guess I expected the rest of my pets to be like this as well. Bev said she didn't really mind, since Hotohori had killed her other mouse Nuriko and she couldn't stand animals that killed other animals. I'm glad Kaworu took Hotohori out relatively quickly. I remember poor Nuriko who had been beat to a pulp and had to suffer for a few hours. Bev told me Hotohori had attempted to eat Nuriko's tail too, which I didn't remember or didn't pay attention to.

But yeah, there're four new addition to the ark of animals that is our apartment. Bev wants one, considering they're not completely white, and it's the least I can do considering what happened to Kaworu. I would've given her one anyways, regardless of that though.

We're on two hour delay for school currently, because of it being fucking cold. I hope it stays that way...I really don't want to go to today or tomorrow...or any this week. :D And if it gets called off today (Which it should!), then the rest of the week is almost guaranteed, considering snow storms are supposed to come in tomorrow or Friday. Not to mention they had started somewhat yesterday.

So, here's to hoping for no school and no exams today, ne?! ^_^

Add a comment?
0 Comments




Previous :: :: Next